Red Torch Ginger to co-sponsor UCD International Ladies’ GAA Team

September 9, 2015

We are delighted to announce that Red Torch Ginger will be co-sponsoring the UCD International Ladies’ GAA Team in the 20th Edition of the FEXCO Asian Gaelic Games in Shanghai, China.  The 12-person international student team will travel from Ireland and comprises women from six countries including China, Nigeria, Poland, the USA, the Philippines and England.

launch of the 2015 UCD International Ladies GAA Jersey

The team was officially unveiled by a host of UCD GAA greats, including Jack McCaffrey and Ryan Wylie, were on hand to offer some advice.

Commenting on the team, Brian Mullins, Director of Sport at University College Dublin said “The FEXCO Asian Gaelic Games were set up to promote Gaelic Games and GAA overseas.  We have 5,000 international students here in UCD, and we felt that we could play our part by promoting Gaelic Games among this group.”

 He added “The UCD International Ladies’ team are looking forward to building on the success of their 2014 campaign and we are delighted that Queen’s University Belfast has followed our lead by fielding its first international ladies’ GAA team for the 2015 tournament”.

 The FEXCO Asian Gaelic Games will take place in Shanghai, China from the 23rd to the 25th October and will feature 65 teams from 20 clubs across 18 countries in Asia. UCD and Queen’s University Belfast are the only Irish institutions fielding international teams.

The run up to the tournament will see a number of testimonial matches against Queen’s University Belfast, the first one taking place in Belfast on the 9th September, while the Dublin leg will be a curtain-raiser before the All-Ireland 7s final at Naomh Mearnóg on the 26th September.

About the Asia Games

The FEXCO Asian Gaelic Games is an annual tournament held under the aegis of the Asian County Board.  The event brings together clubs from all over the Asia region in a two-day tournament in which men’s, ladies and juvenile teams compete for top honours in football, hurling and camogie.  The tournament was established in 1996 and previous host cities have included Manila, Singapore, Phuket, Hong Kong, Shanghai, Penang, Bangkok, Seoul and Kuala Lumpur.